Aquino signs SK reform bill

Jan. 22, 2016

DAVAO CITY – President Benigno Aquino III signed last Friday Republic Act 10742, which reforms the Sangguniang Kabataan.

The “Sangguniang Kabataan Reform Act of 2015”, calls for the creation of the Katipunan ng Kabataan in every barangay, to be composed of all citizens residing in that barangay for at least six months, who are at least 15 years old but not more than 30 years old, and who are duly registered in the list of the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

The Katipunan ng Kabataan shall elect the Sangguniang Kabataan chairperson and members; and serve as the highest policy making body to decide on matters affecting the youth in the barangay.

The law also provides for the creation of the Sangguniang Kabataan in every barangay, to be composed of a chairperson and seven members who will be elected by the registered voters of the Katipunan ng Kabataan.

The functions of the Sangguniang Kabataan include the crafting of a Comprehensive Barangay Youth Development Plan, which shall serve as basis in the preparation of the Annual Barangay Youth Investment Program; approve the annual budget; promulgate resolutions necessary to carry out the objectives of the youth in accordance with the Comprehensive Barangay Youth Development Plan; and coordinate efforts with the national government and private entities.

There will also be in every province, city and municipality a Youth Development Office, to be headed by a youth development officer with the rank of at least a division chief.

Republic Act 10742, a consolidation of Senate Bill No. 2401 and House of Representatives Bill No. 6043, was passed by the Senate and the House on November 4, 2015 and November 11, 2015, respectively.

comments powered by Disqus