Failure of Elections in 3 More Lanao Sur Towns

May. 15, 2007

The Commission on Elections announced that it suspended the elections in three more towns in Lanao del Sur.

In a press conference in Manila, Comelec officials said teachers in Butig, Marugong, and Kapatagan towns who were supposed to serve as election inspectors were harassed by armed men, hence the failure to hold the polls.

Earlier, the Comelec declared “failure of election” in 14 Lanao del Sur towns (Bayabao, Masiu, Lumbatan, Kaai, Bayang, Butig, Binidayan, Tubaran, Lumbayanagi, Sultan Sumalundong, Madalum, Pualas and Kapatagan) because of the unstable peace and order situation.

Lanao del Sur is notorious for its violent and fraudulent elections. (

comments powered by Disqus