2-M compact fluorescent lights to benefit Mindanao households

May. 03, 2010

DAVAO CITY—The Department of Energy (DOE) has allotted two million energy efficient compact fluorescent lights (CFLs) for households across Mindanao in an effort to help reduce power consumption and to mitigate the adverse effects of climate change in the country.

In its continuous campaign for energy efficiency, DOE recently forged a memorandum of agreement (Moa) with eight electric cooperatives from Davao, Cotabato and the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) for the distribution of the CFLs to their respective consumers.

The Moa signing was held in Davao, with distribution activities simultaneously conducted in other areas in Mindanao, such as regions 9, 10 and 13.

DOE assistant secretary Mario Marasigan, who spearheaded the ceremonial signing of the Moa and the distribution of CFLs to the cooperatives in Davao City, explained that its “Switch to CFL” campaign aims to help consumers save power consumption by replacing their incandescent bulbs with CFLs.

He said that the project is implemented under its Philippine Energy Efficiency Project (Peep) with a funding from the Asian Development Bank (ADB).

In a press release, DOE explained that the incandescent light bulbs burn for about 1,000 hours only, while CFLs can last up to 10,000 burning hours. It added that CFLs consume up to 80 pescent less electricity than incandescent bulbs for the same amount of illumination.

Marasigan stated that the use of CFLs does not only decrease the consumption of electricity but it also reduces the emission of carbon dioxide, thus helping save the environment from further destruction.

He said that the project also intends to mitigate the adverse effects of the present condition on climate change which was lately seen in the successive typhoons that severely hit Manila and other areas in Luzon.

Marasigan revealed that a total of 13 million CFLs are targeted to be distributed to the entire country. The 2 million allocated for Mindanao is under the first phase of the campaign. The second and third phase would involve the distribution of 8 million CFLs to other parts of the country, and the remaining 3 million would be provided to Metro Manila and Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon (Calabarzon).

The distribution centers of CFLs are the following electric cooperatives: Davao del Norte Electric Cooperative, Davao del Sur Electric Cooperative, Davao Oriental Electric Cooperative, Inc., Maguindanao Electric Cooperative, Inc., Cotabato Electric Cooperative, South Cotabato Electric Cooperative I, South Cotabato Electric Cooperative II, and the Sultan Kudarat Electric Cooperative. The facility area of the project is the Cotabato Light & Power Company. (PIA-XI)

IMPORTANT NOTICE: INBOX is an archive of press releases, statements, announcements, letters to the editors, and manifestos sent to Davao Today for publication. Please email your materials to davaotoday@gmail.com. Davao Today is not responsible for the content of these materials. The opinion expessed in these items does not reflect those of Davao Today and its staff. Please refer to our terms of use/disclaimer.

comments powered by Disqus