DAVAO CITY – The City Council on Tuesday passed a resolution extending P11 million financial assistance to the areas affected by typhoon Nona (international name: Melor).

The financial assistance would be sent to the municipalities of Sorsogon and Oriental Mindoro.

The special session was sought by Mayor Rodrigo Duterte to have a legal basis in providing financial help to the areas in Visayas.

On Monday, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) said the death toll because of Typhoon Nona is at 40.

The typhoon hit the municipalities of Barcelona, Bulan, Bulusan, Casiguran, Castilla, Donsol, Gubat, Irosin, Uban, Magallanes, Matnog, Pilar, Getoguias, Sta. Magdalena and Sorsogon City.

In a Philippine Information Agency dispatch, Councilor Danilo Dayanghirang, chair of the committee on finance said the ordinance authorizes Mayor Duterte to use a portion of the 30 percent quick-response fund out of the five percent disaster risk reduction and management calamity fund of the city to extend assistance to the victims of typhoon Nona.

He said the assistance is also intended to the seven municipalities of Oriental Mindoro namely, Baco, Calapan, Gloria, Mauian, Pinamalayan, Pola and Victoria.

The ordinance said every town will receive P500,000 each.

Dayanghirang said the assistance is subject to the existing government budgeting, accounting and auditing rules and regulation of the Department of Budget and Management, the Commission on Audit and the Procurement Law. (davaotoday.com)

comments powered by Disqus