Davao City on Blue Alert for Typhoon Onyok

Dec. 17, 2015

DAVAO CITY — Davao City is placed under blue alert status as Tropical Depression “Onyok” entered the Philippine area of responsibility Wednesday afternoon.

The City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office said all response cluster levels are on Level 1 Blue Alert for Typhoon Onyok.

In a text message advisory Wednesday night, the CDRRMO said it is on “monitoring status” for the typhoon.

“Expected activities within 24 hours: 1) pre-disaster risk analysis, 2) contingency planning in support to the response plan,” said the advisory.

The Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) on Wednesday said “at 4:00 pm Thursday, the center of Tropical Depression Onyok was estimated based on all available data at 860 km East of Mati City, Davao Oriental (7.5°N, 134.0°E).”

Pagasa said Onyok has a maximum sustained winds of 45 kilometers per hour (kph) near the center and is forecast to move west northwest at 20 kph.

Onyok is expected to move 470 km east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur Thursday afternoon. On Friday, it is expected to be 130 km of East Southeast of Butuan City, Agusan del Norte.

Pagasa said the estimated rainfall amount “is from moderate to heavy within the 75 km diameter of the Tropical Depression.”

On its latest weather bulletin 4:00 am Thursday, Pagasa said Onyok is at “700 km east northeast of Mati City, Davao Oriental (8.2N, 132.4E) with maximum sustained winds of 55 kph near the center.”

“It is forecast to move west at 15 kph, ” said Pagasa. Davao Region will also experience light to moderate rains.

In a Facebook post by the City Government of Davao this afternoon, it said that Onyok is expected to hit Caraga Region by Friday evening.

“However, moderate to heavy rainfall is expected in Davao City that can trigger flasfloods and landslides. Disaster Operations Center issued Early Warning to all barangays especially to flood and landslide-prone barangays,” it said.

Davao City has 24 coastal barangays including Barangay Lasang, Bunawan, Tibungco, Ilang, Panacan, Sasa, Pampanga, Hizon, Lapu-lapu, Agdao Centro, Duterte, Leon Garcia, 21-C, 23-C, 31-D, 76-A, Matina Aplaya, Talomo, Bago Aplaya, Dumoy, Daliao, Lizada, Sirawan and Binugao. (davaotoday.com)

comments powered by Disqus