By Marilou M. Aguirre
Davao Today

DAVAO CITY — The wait is over. At exactly 8:10 last night, the Davao City Board of Canvassers (CBOB) proclaimed the winners of the 2007 local elections in this city.

As expected, the Dutertes grabbed the top two local positions. Mayor Rodrigo Duterte and his daughter Sara will serve as mayor and vice-mayor, respectively, in the next three years. (See final, official results from Comelec.)

Prospero Nograles won the seat for the congressional position in the First District but he was a no-show during the proclamation at the City Council building last night. Vincent Garcia emerged as the winner for the congressional seat in the Second District. In the Third District, Isidro Ungab beat former mayor Benjamin de Guzman and two other candidates for congressman.

Winners of City Council seats in the First District are Leonardo Avila III, Pilar Braga, Peter Lavia, Nilo Abellera, Edgar Ibuyan, Maria Belen Acosta, Atty. Angela Librado-Trinidad and Bonifacio Militar.

The proclaimed Second District councilors are: Louie John Bonguyan, Diosdado Angelo Mahipus, Danilo Dayanghirang, Dante Apostol, Samuel Bangoy, Arnolfo Ricardo Cabling, Tomas Monteverde IV and Susan Isabel Reta.

In the Third District: Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz, Wilberto Al-ag, Victorio Advincula, Rachel Zozobrado, Karlo Bello, Jose Louie Villafuerte, Conrado Baluran and Teresita Mata. (Marilou M. Aguirre/

comments powered by Disqus